Faux barn wood finish 

Welcome to Wedding Wednesday where weekly I will bring you DIY projects & more.

I found these numbers on living social and luckily it was the same day we confirmed our wedding date so I snatched up the deal and decided to use it as a backdrop behind our wedding cake and later on our gallery wall after our wedding.

How to make a faux barn wood finish using folk art part:

This product is intended for unfinished wood and for indoor use. It adds that “barn wood” look of aged wood.

I bought the folk art barn wood finishes kit from Joann Fabrics and got started making this unfinished numbers fit our wedding theme.

This is what the package looks like. And you’ll also need unfinished wood, a foam brush and thin plastic to scrape (like a gift card).

Before: unfinished wood

1. Apply coat of barn wood tint. 

I love how it brought out the details of the wood. In fact you can leave it like this if you would like. It acts as a stain. Allow to completely dry for two hours. 

During: tinted wood
2. Now apply coat of barn wood wax.

3. Quickly scrape off excess wax using gift card or other plastic.

(I accidentally deleted the picture of this step)

Leave the wood dry and you will see the aged look this process brings out making it appear like old barn wood.


I hope you find this DIY project easy and fun like I did! Look for other folk art finishes products at your local craft store.


Always, always count your blessings 


Disclaimer: I am in no way affiliated with folk art these opinions were my own.

Leave a Reply

