Our Wedding day 

I wanted to take a moment to share our wedding with you all as I welcome you to Wedding Wednesdays here at backroadblessings where I will be sharing some of my DIYs and more details of our big day!
Jake and I both wanted a small wedding and together planned the day with our closest friends and family. We had 30 guests join us at the gazebo outside my family church for an intimate ceremony and celebrate afterward with Cocktails, Appetizers and a taco bar. Jakes Nana baked our Strawberry buttercream cake and his cousin Lauren decorated the cake so beautifully. My Pappy made four delicious homemade pies and all of our other food was cooked by our family. I loved how special that was.

October 1st started off rainy and dreary but the rain started to clear when my girls and I were getting pictures and we were still able to have our ceremony outside in the gazebo like I had so desperately wanted. (That gazebo had very special meaning to me, you see my grandmother passed away in 2014, her & I were very close and there are benches in the gazebo that my Pappy had made and dedicated to my Grandmother. On my Grandmothers death bed all she talked about was how much she loved Jake and how she couldn’t wait for us to be married.) A few days prior to the wedding when we heard the forecast we decided to move the entire reception indoors to prevent any last minute disasters and I was able to decorate the entire house to make it unique to Jake and I. One of my favorite parts of the day was having a Champange brunch with my bridesmaids at Jakes Nanas house with homemade crepes and a yogurt bar. It was so special to me to having the entire first part of my big day with the girls that mean the most to me. My friend Olivia came over to do my makeup and we all got ready together. Emily our photographer came over and we got started taking pictures. Jake and I decided to do a first look so that we could have pictures at the family farm before heading to the church. Everything turned out like a dream thanks to everyone’s help. Our wedding day flew by and we were overwhelmed with the support and love we felt that day.

We plan to have a big reception at our family farm in the fall of 2017 as a one year anniversary celebration. We are looking forward to sharing another wonderful day with those we love

Emily of Emily Pritchett Photography was our amazing photographer and all the pictures I will be posting are of her wonderful work.

Brides hat: my Mothers wedding hat from 1979

Wedding dress: Etsy shop ELdesignstudio

Cowgirl boots: Ariat

Hair: Melissa Brethauer of Aaron Roberts Salon

Makeup: Olivia Shanabrook of Beauty Bowtique

Bridesmaids Champange glasses: Hand painted by Jakes Nana

“Pop the champange”Shirt and brides wine glass: Amy Latta of Coffee & Tee Designs

Bridal robe embroidered by: Rachel Wells of Sew She Sews

Bridal Jewelry: Kendra Scott

Bridal bouquet: made by the bride with store bought fresh Sunflowers & wildflowers from our fields. 

Ring bowl: by me (DIY post to follow)

Cake topper: Etsy shop specialdesignforyou

Invites: Etsy shop melliebellieboutique

Large sign on easel: Etsy shop simplyfetchingpaper and then printed at staples

Guestbook “L”: created by my Pappy

Various wooden signs: Amy Latta of One Artsy Mama –> blog post of how she made my signs

Always, always count your blessings


Leave a Reply

