taco and tator casserole 

I’ve been searching high and low for casserole dishes that do not have cans of soup in them-mostly because my husband despises soup! We both love tator tots and tacos so when I found a recipe that included the best of both worlds without a can of condensed soup I had to give it a try!

Go Preheat oven your oven to 375 degrees and lets get started!

In a large skillet, brown the ground beef and the onion together. Once the ground beef is just about brown add in the garlic. And then drain. Add the green chiles, taco seasoning mix, corn, and 2 cups of the cheese. Stir together to combine. If you would like to add in black beans do that now. I chose not to add these because my husband does not eat beans. Pour mixture into a greased 9×13 pan. Arrange the tater tots on top of the mixture in a single layer. Pour the enchilada sauce on top of the casserole as evenly as you can. Bake uncovered for 30-40 minutes or until tater tots are nice and crispy. Sprinkle the remaining 1 cup of cheese on top and place back in the oven for 2-3 minutes or until cheese has melted. Top with olives, cilantro, sour cream, tomatoes when serving if desired.


{Brown the ground beef and onion together, adding the garlic when almost complete}


{add 1-4oz can of green chilies}

{Add in the taco seasoning}

{combine 2 cups of cheese and corn with the ground beef mixture in the skillet and stir together}

{pour mixture into greased 9×13 pan}


{line the tator tots in a single layer over the ground beef mixture}

{pour 1- 10 oz can of red enchilada sauce evenly over the tator tots and place in the oven for 30-40 minutes} 

{pour remainder of cheese over tator tots and continue to bake for about 5 more minutes} 

Come on in, grab a plate and enjoy!


Of course while the casserole was in the oven I worked on a recipe card so I can make this easy delicious recipe over and over again.


I made this recipe card right in the palm of my hand using the PROJECT LIFE APP. Can it get an More simple? I mean seriously! I love all things project life and you’ll hear me preach it time and time again but I’ve been using this simple system to document our life since 2012. I print these recipe pages in 8×8 format and slip them into page protectors and into my 8×8 recipe book! {Click here to start shopping}

Always, always count your blessings 


{Disclaimer: I found this recipe on Pinterest by The girl who ate everything and adapted it to fit our family}

Leave a Reply

